How Many Wards are in New Orleans? An In-Depth Look at the Crescent City’s Distinct Neighborhoods

This post may contain affiliate links. If you click one, I may earn a commission at no cost to you. As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.

New Orleans is a city known for its rich history, vibrant culture, and unique architecture. But what many visitors may not realize is that beyond the tourist-filled French Quarter lies a complex web of distinct neighborhoods and communities–each with its own character and local flavor.

The Ward System of New Orleans

So how did New Orleans end up with such a diverse collection of neighborhoods? The answer lies in the city’s ward system.

New Orleans is divided into 17 wards. These wards serve as the main geographic and political divisions of the city. The wards were originally created in 1852 for political reasons – to ensure representation on the City Council from different areas of town.

“New Orleans is divided into 17 wards. The wards are used for voting in elections and are subdivided into precincts.”

Although New Orleans no longer elects council members by ward, the ward system remains an important part of the city’s identity. The wards are still used today for voting districts and data collection. The City Planning Commission also uses the wards for zoning and planning purposes.

The Role and Purpose of Wards

So what role do the 17 wards play in New Orleans today? Here are some of the key functions of the ward system:

  • Voting districts – As mentioned above, the wards are used as geographic districts for voting in city elections. Citizens vote for candidates based on the ward where they live.
  • Data collection – The city frequently organizes and analyzes data, such as crime statistics and census information, by ward. This allows for comparison between different neighborhoods.
  • Representation – Although city council members are no longer elected by ward, the system allows residents to identify with their local community and enjoy some degree of localized representation.
  • Identity – The wards have taken on the role of neighborhood identity. New Orleanians take pride in their home wards.
  • Zoning – The City Planning Commission uses ward boundaries for zoning regulations. This helps ensure consistent rules within each district.

So in summary, while the wards no longer directly elect council members, they still provide a useful framework for local governance and community identity. The ward system allows New Orleans residents to connect with their neighborhood on a hyperlocal level.

A Look at Each of the 17 Wards of New Orleans

New Orleans wards each have their own unique history, culture, architecture, and vibe. Here is a brief overview of the 17 wards of New Orleans so you can get better acquainted with these distinct communities:

Ward 1

Encompassing neighborhoods like Algiers and McDonogh, this west bank ward can only be reached by ferry or bridge. With a reputation for friendly people and an affordable cost of living, it almost feels like a small town tucked within the big city.

Ward 2

Sitting adjacent to the French Quarter, Ward 2 contains classic New Orleans neighborhoods like the Warehouse District, Central Business District, and Garden District. Home to upscale housing and chic commercial corridors, this ward has a cosmopolitan feel.

Ward 3

Just northwest of the French Quarter, Ward 3 includes the Treme, Bayou St. John, and Mid-City neighborhoods. Historically the heart of the city’s Creole and African American culture, Ward 3 maintains a strong sense of tradition.

Ward 4

Composed of Uptown neighborhoods like Carrollton and Broadmoor, Ward 4 exudes an old-world charm with its classic architecture and shady oak-lined streets. The campus of Loyola University brings a youthful presence.

Ward 5

Encompassing Gentilly and the Faubourg St. John area, Ward 5 offers a peaceful respite from the tourist zones. Lush parks and historic cemeteries dot the landscape. Residents take pride in their neighborhood roots.

Ward 6

Home to the storied Seventh Ward, the Treme neighborhood, and Central City, Ward 6 brims with African American culture and heritage. Jazz legends like Sidney Bechet grew up here, influenced by the ward’s live music scene.

Ward 7

Anchored by the historic French Quarter, Ward 7 also encompasses neighborhoods like the Marigny and Bywater. Expect delightful architecture, quintessential New Orleans charm, and an artsy, eclectic vibe.

Ward 8

Running from Uptown to Downtown, Ward 8 includes portions of the Lower Garden District, Touro, and Freret neighborhoods. Historic homes, contemporary condos, and funky shops blend seamlessly.

Ward 9

One of the city’s most culturally rich wards, Ward 9 contains Central City, Garden District, Dixon, and Pontchartrain Park. African American heritage and Creole tradition intersect beautifully.

Ward 10

Home to the original Faubourg Marigny neighborhood and portions of Bywater, Ward 10 enchants visitors with bright Creole cottages, indie boutiques, and an alternative arts scene.

Ward 11

Encompassing much of New Orleans East, Ward 11 offers affordable suburban living within the Big Easy. With its close-knit neighborhoods and parish culture, it feels far removed from the tourist zones.

Ward 12

One of the most suburban-feeling wards, Ward 12 in Algiers provides a laidback lifestyle across the river. Homey corner bars and historic jazz venues dot the streets.

Ward 13

Running along Lake Pontchartrain into New Orleans East, Ward 13 allows residents to enjoy waterfront recreation while still accessing downtown within minutes. Subdivisions and golf courses abound.

Ward 14

Covering Lakeview, Lakeshore, Lake Terrace, and other neighborhoods near the lakefront, Ward 14 attracts residents seeking suburban comforts with city proximity. Green spaces provide recreational options.

Ward 15

The ward of Algiers, located directly across the river from the French Quarter, Ward 15 moves at a slower pace than centrally-located neighborhoods. Its small town vibe offers an escape from city life.

Ward 16

Home to the historic 7th Ward, Treme and Lafitte Greenway, Ward 16 is the beating heart of African American culture in New Orleans. Live music spills from classic venues on Frenchmen Street.

Ward 17

Running along the lakefront through Lakeview and West End, Ward 17 allows quick access to suburban leisure and downtown attractions. Festive neighborhood bars channel community spirit.

The Ever-Evolving Wards Remain at the City’s Core

Although New Orleans no longer officially has council members representing each ward, these historic divisions remain the backbone of neighborhood identity. The unique patchwork of wards creates a one-of-a-kind sense of place.

Over the decades, the character of various wards has continued to evolve. Neighborhoods have seen ups and downs, demographic shifts, and renewal. But the ward rivalries, civic pride, and hyperlocal communities persist.

So next time you visit America’s most unique city, take the opportunity to venture beyond the French Quarter and explore the mosaic of New Orleans wards. Immerse yourself in the culture, cuisine, and shared traditions that lend each ward its distinctive flair. Just be sure to chat with some locals first – as they love repping their home turf!

About The Author

Scroll to Top